All Padma Awards Go To Women Of India

The list of Padma Awardees 2020 is dominated by the six-time world boxing champion, Mary Kom. She has already been awarded Padma Shri in 2006 and decorated with the Padma Bhushan in 2013

Others on the Padma Award list are as follows:

PV Sindhu (Padma Bhushan)

The World Badminton Champion is also the first Indian to win the world championship in August last year. She was conferred Padma Shri in 2015 but her name was withdrawn from the Padma Bhushan award in 2017.

VineshPhogat (Padma Shri)

The first Indian woman wrestler to bag Gold in both Commonwealth and Asian Games, she is also the first Indian athlete to get nominated for Laureus World Sports Awards.

Manika Batra (Padma Shri)

The Indian Table tennis star led the Indian women’s team to a gold medal historic win in the final against Singapore at the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia.

Arjuna Awardee Harmanpreet Kaur (Padma Shri)

The T20 skipper of Indian team is the first woman score a century in a Women’s Twenty20 International (WT20I) match in November 2018.

Rani Rampal (Padma Shri)

Women’s Hockey team captain, she was the youngest player in the national team which participated in the 2010 World Cup. She was 15 then and her team bagged a Silver in 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta.

Suma Shirur (Padma Shri)

Former Indian shooter, she won Gold in the Commonwealth Games 2002 in the 10m air rifle event.

Tashi and Nungshi Malik (Padma Shri)

The twin sisters are the first to climb the Seven Summits and reach the North and South Poles and complete the Adventurers Grand Slam and Three Poles Challenge.

The official announcement of the names of the awardees would be made on the eve of the Republic Day next year.


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *