BJP Is Content With 20 Seats In Tamil Nadu State Elections

AIADMK made an important announcement regarding seat sharing for the upcoming Tamil Nadu elections. It has allotted 20 seats to BJP for assembly elections. Also, BJP will get Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat. But another regional ally PMK is allotted 23 seats.

What was the announcement?

Signed by Chief Minister Edapaddi Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister O Pannerselvam, BJP state in-charge CT Ravi and its state unit chief L Murugan, the announcement states that BJP will fight elections on 20 seats. It will also fight for Kanyakumari Lok Sabha bypolls. The seat has been vacant due to death of Congress MP Vasanthakumar.

Who will fight from where?

While the BJP is yet to receive the names of the seats it has been allotted, AIADMK has announced its first list of candidates including Mr. Palaniswami and Mr. Panneerselvam that will contest from Edappadi and Bodinayakanur constituencies respectively. Ministers D Jayakumar and C Ve Shanmugam will retain their seats – Royapuram and Villupuram respectively.

What are the dates of Tamil Nadu elections?

The state will go to polls on April 6 and the elections results will be declared on May 2. Elections for 234 seats for Tamil Nadu assembly will be held in single phase. There are two major alliances – Congress-DMK and BJP-AIADMK – are fighting for elections.

How are the Tamil Nadu elections important for BJP?

It is the first election after the death of two iconic leaders – J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi. Also, BJP is hoping to revive its fortunes after facing complete rout in 2019 Lok Sabha election when it lost 38 of the 39 seats it contested from.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.