No Home Matches For Teams In IPL 2021 Season

The IPL 2021 will start on April 9 and conclude on May 30. And the matches will be played in six venues but no team will play at home ground.

IPL venues

Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, and Mumbai are the venues where IPL matches will be played. Mumbai has been included in the list of venues despite the city witnessing a surge in COVID-19 cases. But the matches will be played behind closed doors for added safety of the players. The final match will be played at the Nardendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 30.

The opening fixture of IPL

The first match of IPL season 2021 will be played in Chennai on April 9. It will be between the defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Total matches of IPL

IPL season 2021 will host a total of 56 matches out of which Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. During the league states, all the teams will play at 4 out of 6 venues and all the venues will be neutral for the teams.

IPL season 2021 doubleheaders

This time, there’ll be 11 doubleheaders with 6 teams playing three afternoon matches and 2 teams playing two afternoon matches. The timing of matches will be 3:30 PM IST for afternoon matches and 7:30 PM IST for evening matches.

The previous season was shifted to UAE due to epidemic but this season will be played in India because the COVID-19 situation has improved in the country.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.