Vir Chakra For Wing Commander AbhinandanVarthman

Wing Commander AbhinandanVarthman will be conferred with the third highest wartime medal Vir Chakra on Independence Day. Sapper Prakash Jadhav and CRPF Dy ComdtHarshpal Singh will be conferred with Kirti Chakras. Prakash Jadhav would get the award posthumously. He sacrificed his life in a terrorist attack in Kulgam in November 2018. Another 14 personnel would be conferred with Shaurya Chakras.

Gallantry awards

Vir Chakra is the third highest gallantry medal given for war-time (presence of the enemy) activities. It comes after Param Vir Chakra &MahaVir Chakra. AbhinandanVarthman will get this award for shooting down a F-16 plane of enemy during air-skirmishes with Pakistan Air Force on February 27.

Another Air Force personnel to get gallantry award is Squardon Leader Minty Aggarwal. She will be conferred with YudhSeva Medal for playing a constructive role as a fighter controller during February 27 aerial conflict.

The Mirage-2000 pilots that who bombed Jaish-e-Mohammed facility at Balakot in Pakistan in the pre-dawn air strikes on Februay 26 will be conferred with Vayu Sena medals.


The 35-year Wing Commander shot a F-16 of Pakistan Air Force with his Mig-21 Bison in an aerial attack after Balakot air strikes by Indian Air Force. Seconds after the kill, AbhinandanVarthman’s plane was hit by a Pakistani missile and he had to eject. He landed safely in Pakistan and caught by the military police. The IAF hero remained in the custody of Pakistan for 60 hours before coming to India like a winner. For more information please visit our latest trending News


Leave a Comment